Volumio2: Change Airplay and Hostname?

Hi,

I’m new to Volumio… Really good piece of software! Thx for that.

Is there a way to change the default Airplay Name to something different (I’m using Volumio 2)? Tried it with changing “shairport-sync.conf” but after a reboot it’s back to “Volumio”.

Another question:
How can I change the Hostname, so that it doesn’t come up with “Volumio” in my DNS listing?

Cheers
RPR

Go to Settings -> system
and change the player name: it will change both Airplay name and hostname :wink:

It will change both Airplay name and hostname, but the two don’t match. The player name is shown as Capitalized, but the hostname is lowercase, and sometimes the name being broadcast to Airplay will be lowercase - but sometimes, it will be capitalized.

If I change the Player Name in System Settings, it’s shown as Capitalized regardless of whether or not I capitalized it (type it all lowercase, save and return: it’s capitalized), but the hostname is all lowercase even if the player name is capitalized.

Sometimes the name getting broadcast to Airplay gets shown as lowercase - even though it’s Capitalized in Volumio System Settings.

If I save System settings, or if I make any changes that restart anything related to the player or the network, or if I restart Volumio, the name being broadcast to Airplay can (but doesn’t always) change to being lowercase - or Capitalized.

How do I fix this? Is there a way to override whatever behavior is causing capitalization/lowercase changes?

I assume Airplay is being served by Shairport Sync. Is there a way to manually set the name for Shairport Sync?

The problem: