Volumio & BubbleUPnP Server on the same RPi

Hallo there,
I’m starting this thread as I would like to run Volumio and BubbleUPnP server on the same RPi unit, but I’m not an linux engineer, so I’m searching for some convenient method. Currently, I run Volumio on RPi and BubbleUPnP on separate Android TV box, which works fine, but I’d like to make simpler setup. I suppose, performance-wise, RPi 3 shouldn’t have any problem running both. Also, I do not want to start BubbleUPnP every time manually after Volumio restart (happens sometimes due to power failure or other reasons). If necessary, I can work with command line, but do not wish to do so after every restart.

Why I want such setup? Because I’m mainly streaming from Tidal using Lumin application (Open Home compatible) on iPhone. But without BubbleUPnP server I wasn’t able to setup Tidal account in the application. Alternatively, if you, guys, know other method how to stream from Tidal to Volumio (w/o BubbleUPnP server), I’m interested to hear about it.

Thanks in advance of any hint.

Trying to achieve the same thing. Just posted in the Help forum.

Hope to see some solutions soon.

Have you found anything?

No, I haven’t found any solution. In fact, I didn’t spend lot of time with it. I tried to run Picore Player + Squeeze box app, but it’s lot more difficult to setup and not so user friendly.

I found possible solution based on Open Home Player (see http://openhome.org/pages/use/downloads/pi.html), which is a software package you can install on standard Rpi Linux. Unfortunately that means you will leave Volumio GUI. But then you can order internet radio or Tidal streams from mobile application (Linn Kazoo or Lumin) and Rpi plays it to back to sound output of the Rpi even when you close the control application. I tried that in the meantime on my Mac and it really works.

1 Like