setting up Volumio w/ HiFi Hat, Dual Amp, Massive NAS

First, HELLO!

I’m Pete, and please forgive me for crashing into your online community- in which I am a stranger to you, but not to the gear. I hope I am not a bother, and someone here might understand my plight and find it easy to copy and paste me some links. If this is the type of request that comes in twice a day… my bad.

I am no stranger to the Pi. I have been using it as a cable cutting device for almost six years and the amount I have not spent on cable service itself, along with their their included set top box DVR charge per month, taxes and all the other fees since I cut the cord- my savings have topped topped over $6,500 earlier this year to date since I started using the Pi. Love it. I’ve branched out trying to buy other SBCs with more horsepower, but seem to keep returning to the Pi.

I design home theater systems for people with much more money than I have, as well as design and fabricate Audiophile Quality speakers for home (and home theater, and BIG home use). Alas, I have the curse of the Baker without any bread, as I tend to use a mixture of junky audio gear I don’t care much about in my own house. I have kids that are just turning 8 and 9, so I can just start to trust them around things I really would like to keep intact. I am getting my NAS rig back in order, setting up amplifiers and speaker cabinets and the last part is setting up the Pi and Volumio.

I’ve used Volumio and Rune before. I have no problem getting Volumio running and using it. I like it. I’d like to be directed to being able to use Volumio for online streaming services. Podcasts? http:// stream addresses? Some other way to use add-ones like in the video section? Any hints, tutorials you know of, other threads, cool projects…