Saying "Hallo!" from the Netherlands

Hi, all!

First of all, a warm greeting from the (right now kinda cold) Netherlands. I stumbled upon this opensource project while trying to turn an unused rpi3 in a streaming device for high-end audio listening. After trying a few different methods (programming it myself with a Raspberian base OS, to weird remote client control workarounds). But Volumio did it all in one go… I’m very happy I found out about this project and the way it all runs with my system. So big thanks in advance there too all contributors. :smiley: .

So for myself, I’m a professional audio engineer, music producer, mixer and make an extra penny by buying vintage audio gear, fixing it up and selling it again. Audiophile by heart and my life is kinda centered around analog gear (using/abusing. and if needed repairs :wink: ). Although I do work in a digital audio workstation, I try to use as much outboard hardware. My workflow is dynamic because I use a combination of good midi programming/controlling and twisting the knobs on the outboard hardware. I also sample a lot from vinyl, and I’m doing some MOOCs about Machine Learn Programming for Musicians and Physics in Sound Synthesis. I do come from a background of working in the Dutch broadcast industry and Linux system management among some other IT jobs which focused on network security. I’m good at Shell scripting, good at Chuck scripting, okay with Python, okay with JS, but as long as I don’t have to do object-oriented programming I’m up and running in most languages with some practice.

To be honest, I did not read any introductions from other members yet, so apart from this I hope to have fun here on the forums, support the community where needed and make good audio quality (I don’t really like the term Hi-Fi that much) reachable and fun for anyone who is interested in listening to music :slight_smile: . I love sailing, DIY, woodwork, soldering, electronics and play the harmonica.