My RPi3 / Volumio journey

Hi,
I’m quite new to RPi audio. I’ve been streaming FLAC files from my Laptop USB through a WaveIO board that converts to I2S and into the I2S input on a WAF Najda DSP, X/O preamp / controller.
This has worked well for many years.

I recently got a Google Chromecast audio and modded that to take a clean Linear power supply and also Lan in instead of Wifi. That improved the sound no end. I have been using Spotify Premium and trialling Tidal too.

Having read the endeavors of some on The Art of sound forum and heard good results with RPi / Volumio and Allo’s Digi One played into my system I decided to get a RPi when one and a Hifiberry digi+ came up for sale.

I got the Hifiberry working nicely with Spotify into my system via SPdif.

I am now looking to connect the RPi directly via I2S, similarly as I did for WaveIO.
Soon I will have a Allo Kali reclocking board arriving.

I am all connected up and have the Generic I2S settings in Volumio but as of yet no sound.
I am wondering what I need to do to perhaps in RPi or Volumio to get things working?

This is how I’ve connected up.
Sketch courtesy of a fellow DiyAudio member.

Other diagrams

Here’s a pic of my setup.

All help gratefully received.

Wayhey, re-checked everything this evening powered up connected in Spotify and it’s working fine now!

The sound even without the Kali reclocker is already better than the Hifiberry digi + & Spdif route in…
It could be a bit lively / unrefined on some higher pitched frequencies (jitter?) but I need to test lots of music this evening to confirm.

Looking forward to the Kali board to see what that can do.

Sent from my Moto G (5) using Tapatalk

The Kali board has arrived.
My Allo Christmas came early :slight_smile:
Hope to plumb that in soon.

Hopefully Kali with her many arms and hands will catch the loose clocking of the Rpi and provide order accord where it’s lacking :wink:

Update.