New to volumio

Hi,

I’m new to volumio. I have a RasPi 3. I downloaded an image (Jan 2019), flashed it to a micro SD, plugged in a mouse, keyboard and TV as a monitor. I powered up the RasPi 3 - the good news is that Linux booted, the bad news is that volumio did not come up. Rather I got a “volumio login” command line prompt. I logged in with root/volumio, but cannot get the graphical UI going. Any suggestions?
-Mike M.

See the Quickstart guide, volumio.github.io/docs/User_Man … Guide.html

Yes, thanks I have used the quick start guide and also searched the Internet for my issue.

If the first boot process detected the monitor, in which file should I look for settings? /boot/config.txt? I tried “init 5” - same results. Is there a systemd command to try that will show diagnostics?

Thanks.

- Mike M

Volumio is designed to usually run as a headless system, that is on a computer without a monitor attached. The GUI is accessed from a browser on any device (mobile, tablet, PC) connected to the same network as your Volumio device (home LAN for example). If your RPi has a wired connection to the LAN, then you can access the UI with “http://volumio” or “http://volumio.local” or the actual IP address of your Volumio device (get from you network router) eg. “http://192.168.1.60”. If the RPi is wirelessly connected, then you have to access it’s hotspot in order to set up your wifi name & password.

All of these steps and much more are detailed in the guide link in my message signature.

P.S. You can use a monitor attached to your RPi, but this requires the installation of a plugin. You will also need to read about plugins here.

@chsims1 -Thanks! that was very helpful. I figured out the IP address of the RasPi3 and am now able to access it from a browser on another system. I can continue setup now.