Net streamer via USB dac

Hi everybody,
I’m brand new in this wold, so I write here to have information and suggestions about my project.
I have a good hifi equipment (don’t like to enumerate it, I think it’s too selfish :sunglasses: ) and very recently I’ve bought an external dac to connect my pc to the amplifier. It’s a topping d30 xmos and I think is a best-buy for the price.

Now I’d like to create my own net streamer and I thought about raspberry pi and volumio.

My idea is to recycle the box of an old satellite receiver, pimping it up with a new custom front panel.
Inside, the raspberry, an external Sata to USB adapter and a capable hdd, a simple display with track information and the power supply.

My questions are:
can I use my external dac and the pi just as transport?
Can I connect the dac to the pi via usb as an external soundcard?
Could I use any kind of just output dac hat to connect the devices trough the spdif optical interface? Which ones?

Thank you

Yes, either via USB directly or using Spdif via a Hat board.

Yes, but the Pi isn’t the best USB signal provider when it comes to audio.

There are a few Hat boards that you can put on top of the Pi which provide an optical spdif signal. A good option to look at is the Hifiberry Digi+ Pro especially when you have a good hifi setup.

By default the Pi does a bad job in providing a
decent clock signal for audio, so look at boards that have their own clocks to generate a proper spdif signal.

Finally, using a good (preferably audio grade) power supply is important to get better results.

Maybe take a look at some youtube videos from Hans Beekhuyzen who has several Pi related reviews and tutorials on several audio subjects.

Good luck listening and selecting your pieces :slight_smile:

Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk

Thank you for your reply and your suggestions.
I think I’ll start with a simply pi and the USB dac.
Then I’ll take the digi +
Is it just a transport, isn’t it?