LCD customization

Hello. I’m an another noob who’s buy a raspberry pi 3 and just started fun with volumio, everything works great. I succesfully installed an HD44780 Plugin from Saiyato, witch also works great. The main question is: How to customize display data on screen. Now i using edited setup from pattern2 : Artist - Title in first row and the second is “>” when music playing or “[” when stops, next is play time and last is bitrate.
Now it is possible to:

• change “>” and “[” characters to other from display front table?
  • add a string or display a file format (MP3 or FLAC) when MP3 or FLAC is playing?
  • text scrool speed increase? In default is 10 but i think it could be a litle bit faster for me (on 1 or on 10 settings the scrool time is the same).
    Which file i need to edit and how to do this?

Im using a OLED 16x2 display with I2C converter on back.

Hey,

I don’t have access to the Pi’s right now, but I think the config files you are looking for are:

1. /etc/LCDd.conf
  2. /etc/mpdlcd.conf

Hi Hopek1986,

I also have a I2C backpack and a 2x20 VFD connected to it but i do have troubles on how to connect to the PI. Could you post a diagram or image which pins of the backpack are to connect to which pins of the PI ?

Also i would like to connect a button matrix to set radio stations or playlist directly without having to use a browser - but i think for that a plugin would be required…

Thank you in advance.

Best Regards
Josef

Here is a GPIO layout.

SCL (pin 3) and SDA (pin 5) need to be connected to backpack and supply for Your VFD should be connected also via 2 pin (+5V) and 6 pin (Ground) if display supply is 5V. In my case i need to set the default address for a backpack (0x27) in Volumio settings and Driver Connection Type should be set to “i2c” and LCD runs almost ok :slight_smile: Check the datasheet for current of Your display…

Hi i only need IP Adress, Kbit/s an MP3/Flac.

Can you help me im really newbie.

THx.