[GUIDE] Kodi on Volumio 2.x -> Install on a nonvolumio image

Guides to let you easily discover and enjoy Volumio

Ads helps Volumio remain Free and Open Source. Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Install volumio on a non-volumio image

Postby gkkpch » Tue Sep 06 2016 13:30

youpilai wrote:
yes, i'm aware of that, i tried to install kodi on ODROID following this thread:
http://forum.odroid.com/viewtopic.php?t=19433
with "kodi-odrobian-fbdev" and "mali-fbdev" from the "http://oph.mdrjr.net/odrobian/apt-sources/public/jessie-s905.list" branch, but with no success for now. My TV screen stays with the boot logo i've activated to check if hdmi output is working.


ok, check the Odroid forum and search for Mauro's C2_init.sh (or C1_init.sh) as this contains display setup and monitor unblank which needs to be done in the boot process as early as possible. HK placed it in initramfs, for us that would mean an Odroid-specific change to volumio's initrd. This has not been planned yet.
There are some references as to where to place this as a script, you could consider /etc/init.d
User avatar
gkkpch
Moderator
 
Posts: 823
Joined: Mon Dec 29 2014 22:38
Location: Wollerau, Switzerland

Ads helps Volumio remain Free and Open Source. Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.


Install volumio on a non-volumio image

Postby youpilai » Tue Sep 06 2016 13:46

doomilation wrote:Hi youpilai,
it works really great!
You just forgot to add in the boot/config.txt

Code: Select all
gpu_mem=196


Thanks again for your effort (and cheers to Saiyato)


yes, you're absolutely right, my bad
Random avatar
youpilai
Sunday DIYer
Sunday DIYer
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Dec 11 2015 09:36
Location: Marseille


Install volumio on a non-volumio image

Postby youpilai » Tue Sep 06 2016 13:49

gkkpch wrote:
youpilai wrote:
yes, i'm aware of that, i tried to install kodi on ODROID following this thread:
http://forum.odroid.com/viewtopic.php?t=19433
with "kodi-odrobian-fbdev" and "mali-fbdev" from the "http://oph.mdrjr.net/odrobian/apt-sources/public/jessie-s905.list" branch, but with no success for now. My TV screen stays with the boot logo i've activated to check if hdmi output is working.


ok, check the Odroid forum and search for Mauro's C2_init.sh (or C1_init.sh) as this contains display setup and monitor unblank which needs to be done in the boot process as early as possible. HK placed it in initramfs, for us that would mean an Odroid-specific change to volumio's initrd. This has not been planned yet.
There are some references as to where to place this as a script, you could consider /etc/init.d


Thanks, i will look for that
Random avatar
youpilai
Sunday DIYer
Sunday DIYer
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Dec 11 2015 09:36
Location: Marseille


Install volumio on a non-volumio image

Postby greg_p » Mon Sep 26 2016 15:51

Saiyato wrote:François,

I have managed to get it working, will be testing performance in the next week.
I must say I abandoned the rPiB+ and used the rPi2B instead, mostly because of the need for RAM.

So what I did is the following:

- Flash the 979-image
- Added the repo, updated and installed Kodi
- Set the permissions and rules
- Changed the kodi user to volumio and added volumio to the groups as opposed to pi
- Set enabled to 1 in de kodi settings
- Set volumio to auto-login

Not sure if I can combine this all into 1 script, but it seems to be working...



Hello,

Sorry for a stupid noob question, but I tried whatyou described and the upgrade didn't succeed (I also flashed the 979), because one package didn't upgrade:
Code: Select all
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 libpam-systemd : Depends: systemd (= 215-17+deb8u5) but 215-17+deb8u4 is installed
 systemd : Depends: libsystemd0 (= 215-17+deb8u4) but 215-17+deb8u5 is installed
E: Unmet dependencies. Try using -f.


I also tried to force but it is not working. I'm sure it's a pretty simple issue, but could you help me fix this?


To be more specific, Actually each time I start an upgrade command, it doesn't finish with the previous status, but after rebooting, mpd doesn't start and neither UI. I have to reflash after this. I have no doubt I miss something obvious but it doesn't appear in the list of command provided.
I move back and installed back kodi on a Pi3. kodi is able to display movies on HDMI and music on the USB DAC. I was happy with volumio but having 2 devices for movies and music is not reasonable - even if these are 2 pi.
Random avatar
greg_p
Fresh off the boat
Fresh off the boat
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 22 2014 17:00


Install volumio on a non-volumio image

Postby Saiyato » Tue Sep 27 2016 10:04

Hi Greg,

I will see if I can get a script compiled, I know I promised I'd look into that before... but you know... priorities and stuff :P
I've ordered a Pi3B for the project, been wanting one for some time now.... So I thought I'd order one finally.

Maybe the Pi3B has different behaviour compared to the Pi2B. I expect the pi to be delivered tomorrow, so testing will not commence before tomorrow evening.
Fight, win, prevail!
User avatar
Saiyato
Audiophile
Audiophile
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Dec 23 2015 07:58


Install volumio on a non-volumio image

Postby Saiyato » Fri Oct 14 2016 18:31

It took me a while, but I think I've found a way to do it all in one script... will test a bit again this weekend.

The script is:
Code: Select all
#!/bin/bash
# Kodi plugin installation script
echo "deb http://archive.mene.za.net/raspbian jessie contrib" | sudo tee -a /etc/apt/sources.list
apt-key adv --keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com --recv-key 5243CDED

# Update repositories, install debugger and Kodi
apt-get update
apt-get -y install gdb
apt-get -y install kodi

# Prepare usergroups and configure user
addgroup --system input
#adduser kodi
usermod -aG audio,video,input,dialout,plugdev,tty kodi

# Enable auto-login
INITTAB="/etc/inittab"
if grep -q "1:2345:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty1" $INITTAB;
then
   sed -i -- 's#1:2345:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty1#1:2345:respawn:/sbin/getty --autologin volumio --noclear 38400 tty1#g' $INITTAB
fi

# Configure Kodi auto-launch
KODICONFIG="/etc/default/kodi"
if grep -q "ENABLED=0" $KODICONFIG;
then
   sed -i -- 's/ENABLED=0/ENABLED=1/g' $KODICONFIG
fi

# Add input rules
echo "SUBSYSTEM==\"input\", GROUP=\"input\", MODE=\"0660\"
KERNEL==\"tty[0-9]*\", GROUP=\"tty\", MODE=\"0660\"" | sudo tee -a /etc/udev/rules.d/99-input.rules

# Add input permissions
echo "# input
KERNEL==\"mouse*|mice|event*\",   MODE=\"0660\", GROUP=\"input\"
KERNEL==\"ts[0-9]*|uinput\",     MODE=\"0660\", GROUP=\"input\"
KERNEL==\"js[0-9]*\",             MODE=\"0660\", GROUP=\"input\"
# tty
KERNEL==\"tty[0-9]*\",            MODE=\"0666\"
# vchiq
SUBSYSTEM==\"vchiq\",  GROUP=\"video\", MODE=\"0660\"" | sudo tee -a /etc/udev/rules.d/10-permissions.rules

# Map the EGL libraries
echo "/opt/vc/lib/" | sudo tee /etc/ld.so.conf.d/00-vmcs.conf
ldconfig

# Update the gpu_mem parameter
CONFIG="/boot/config.txt"
if grep -q gpu_mem=16 $CONFIG;
then
   sed -i -- 's/gpu_mem=16/gpu_mem=248/g' $CONFIG
else
   sed -i -- 's/gpu_mem=/#gpu_mem=/g' $CONFIG
   echo "gpu_mem=248" | sudo tee -a $CONFIG
fi

echo "hdmi_force_hotplug=1" | sudo tee -a /boot/config.txt

#reboot


Remember to use UNIX EOL (end of line) as opposed to Windows!
Fight, win, prevail!
User avatar
Saiyato
Audiophile
Audiophile
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Dec 23 2015 07:58


Install volumio on a non-volumio image

Postby newuser » Sat Oct 22 2016 06:56

Thanks to Saiyato, I installed kodi on Volumio 2.001. I had to change the http port for kodi I could access both from web URL.
However I could not set it to use hifibery digi. Volumio works as usual. Kodi works with hdmi or USB audio, but does not detect the hifiberry digi+
The work around is to use 2 DACs. One for volumio that uses input from hifiberry digi and another from USB. Both connect to same powered speakers .
2nd problem is, shut down or reboot takes very long. I see a shutdown process waiting for XBMC for 5 mins. Sometimes it completes in 2-3 minutes, but it's way longer than what it would take with volumio without kodi.
Any idea?
Random avatar
newuser
Fresh off the boat
Fresh off the boat
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 18 2016 03:24


Install volumio on a non-volumio image

Postby Lion » Fri Nov 04 2016 18:30

Hi Saiyato,
great that i found your script - thank you for your work :)

I am new to this, and i just want to get sure that i would do it right (no experience with linux) - my raspberry is on the way...

So my steps would be:
Write the image of Volumio2.0 to the SD-Card
Start it, login with putty
create a file, for instance "script.sh", write your script in it (with nano)
start your script "bash"

Right?
BR, Lion
Random avatar
Lion
Fresh off the boat
Fresh off the boat
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 04 2016 17:00


Install volumio on a non-volumio image

Postby alsasi » Thu Nov 17 2016 11:40

Thank you Saiyato for your script. It worked perfectly with my new Rasp3 + Hifiberry DAC+pro

But I found necessary to do it in order:

1- install Volumio in the SD card
2- config DAC according https://support.hifiberry.com/hc/en-us/ ... -or-higher
3- check DAC's configuration in Volumio
4- create Saiyato's script, change permission CHMOD, and run

If you change the configuration in Volumio it will rewrite /boot/config.txt, and it will affect Kodi
Random avatar
alsasi
Fresh off the boat
Fresh off the boat
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 17 2016 11:25


Install volumio on a non-volumio image

Postby Saiyato » Thu Nov 17 2016 12:31

alsasi wrote:Thank you Saiyato for your script. It worked perfectly with my new Rasp3 + Hifiberry DAC+pro

But I found necessary to do it in order:

1- install Volumio in the SD card
2- config DAC according https://support.hifiberry.com/hc/en-us/ ... -or-higher
3- check DAC's configuration in Volumio
4- create Saiyato's script, change permission CHMOD, and run

If you change the configuration in Volumio it will rewrite /boot/config.txt, and it will affect Kodi


Aye that is correct, I think it (volumio) even writes a complete (new) one (boot/config.txt) as opposed to editing it (like my script). Still working on finding the problem of rebooting and the LSB job "raise network interfaces" hang.
Fight, win, prevail!
User avatar
Saiyato
Audiophile
Audiophile
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Dec 23 2015 07:58

PreviousNext

Return to Guides

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests