How good is a Pi + Volumio

Hi
I currently stream music from my NAS using JPLAY in dual PC mode and feeding a John Westlake modified MDAC. It sounds terrific and I’m very interested to know whether a Pi running Volumio could possibly sound as good. Has anyone any experience of such a comparison?

I’m new to VolumIO and RPi in general. I’m also not an audiophile. I’m working on converting my RPi-B+ into a CarAudioPC to play my MP3s in my new car. Can’t afford a brand new deck at the moment, plus the additional components to get my steering wheel controls to work, so, retrofitting the Pi, and plugging in the Pi to the AuxIn on the deck for the first year or so, unless I’m driven nuts, so a trip to an audio shop will need to happen. :wink:

The hardware for the RPi will play stereo music without issue. I’ve got a random selection of MP3s stored on a USB key. Prior to the Pi, the key was plugged into my old head unit, and I’ve never heard any sort of distortion, and it HAS to have better hardware than the Pi for audio processing (It is a Pioneer deck). I broke the stock speakers in the car due to Habitual Volume Control Overdose (Its a medical thing… seriously!), so upgraded to a $250 pair of 6x9s. The deck played my tunes clearly and without issue, and I was such a happy boy experiencing HVCO again. :]

VolumIO is not driving the audio, but, MPD http://www.musicpd.org/ is. Consider VolumIO to be a wrapper around MPD. MPD basically tells the audio hardware to do its thing, and it does a pretty good job as far as I’m concerned. Once I get what I want done with my Pi, and I have the new car, I’ll probably come back and let you know exactly what it sounds like.

My equipment:

To-Do list:

• Take possession of the Impala
  • Touch LCD screen for easier control
  • Physical Button operation for prev/next/pause via the GPIO pins
  • Figure out ad-hoc + Wireless access, so I can wirelessly transfer music to my car (giddy laugh)