Greetings Earthlings!

Like a lot of people, I’m an audio hobbyist/addict on a budget. I build custom speaker systems in a never-ending search for the absolute perfect match for my listening tastes. My love of music became an addiction when I heard a pair of Infinity’s flagship speakers back in 1980. The stereo pair consisted of 4 total 7ft tall towers, using many amps, and dozens of speaker drivers. It was 4 towers because there were separate woofer towers and tweeter/mid-towers for each channel. (The mid/tweets had curved “wings” making those towers about 5ft wide by 7 ft. tall.) As I recall, the price was ~$40,000, which was a lot of money back in 1980. The speakers were playing various half-speed mastered vinyl albums of all of my favorite progressive rock and jazz music on a high-end, high-mass, regulated speed turntable from a European brand.

This music experience was utter perfection. The sound produced by those speakers alternated between giving me chills, choking me up, making me grin so big that it hurt, and causing my jaw to drop with each newly revealed instrument hidden deep in the music I thought I knew intimately. So, I obsessively strive to duplicate that extremely clean sound, the magical timbre, the incredibly tight powerful bass, the crystalline highs, and especially the unbelievably perfect soundstage. As you might guess, not being filthy rich has made it difficult to achieve a similar level of perfection. I still enjoy trying, though. :slight_smile: