Enable Wifi with TP-LINK TL-WN725N

Hi all,

I am just getting started with Volumio and have trouble using the UI over Wifi…

Here’s my setup :

RPi 2B+
USB Wifi dongle TP-LINK TL-WN725N

So first problem was with installing the Wifi dongle drivers and set up my network. I knew the drill from other RPi projects so thanks to this page it is working now. Link : latelierdugeek.fr/2015/06/0 … -raspbian/

My network is setup in the /etc/network/interfaces file like this :

auto wlan0
iface wlan0 inet dhcp
wpa-ssid Zigmoud
wpa-psk XXXX

All right, great. I can SSH over wifi, no need for Ethernet anymore, yay!

There seems to be a problem with the DNS now :

First, volumio.local points to 192.168.211.1…?

If I check my interfaces with ifconfig wlan0, I get :

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr XXX inet addr:192.168.211.1 Bcast:192.168.211.255 Mask:255.255.255.0 UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1 RX packets:996 errors:0 dropped:38 overruns:0 frame:0 TX packets:1048 errors:0 dropped:11 overruns:0 carrier:0 collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 RX bytes:139810 (136.5 KiB) TX bytes:1221364 (1.1 MiB)

However, I am able to SSH via its allocated IP :

ssh volumio@192.168.1.42

What is wrong with my setup ?

The result is that I can access the UI through 192.168.1.42 but it doesn’t start (loader icon), probably because it can’t open the socket connection (in my console I receive IP from API data.host = “http://192.168.211.1”, followed by an endless list of broken connections to the socket at this IP)

Edit 8/1/2017

I tried changing /etc/network/interfaces back to its original state, connecting through Ethernet and configuring my Wifi network in the UI, but I still can’t connect to my network :frowning:

I got it working thanks to this thread : volumio-hotspot-how-connect-t4727.html#p21720

So I edited the post title and here is the way to go if you have the same USB dongle as I have :