Distorted audio - Samplerate on DAC not being set correctly

Hi, I’m new to Volumio so I may have a setting wrong somewhere, I did check the FAQ and searched the forum but

I’m using a E-Mu 0404 USB as a DAC and it works really nicely on Windows and Mac systems.

However it’s showing strange behaviour under Volumio, here’s what happens.

Upon booting all audio sounds distorted/terrible/unlistenable unless it’s 48Khz audio, or if I turn on resampling to 48Khz. The bad sound is because the DAC is at the wrong samplerate.

It seems that Volumio is not setting the sample rate of my DAC correctly, I can change it manually like this:

If I SSH in and load up alsamixer then I can change the samplerate manually with the ‘Clock rate Selector’ slider - this way I can listen to 44.1Khz audio without resampling with the slider at the bottom, it sounds great/not-distorted and if I need a higher sampling rate I can increase the Clockrate slider until there is no distortion.

Now while this works having to use terminal to change the samplerate is pretty clunky. Is there a setting somewhere or something I need to configure also sample rate switching? It would be really nice auto Samplerate switching.

Thanks

I had something similar some versions ago, although my DAC would only output distorted noise regardless of the input file.
The solution to force a certain communication mode might work though. Worth a try at least.

In the file /boot/cmdline.txt, add the line below. You can vary from 0x1 to 0x7, try which one works.

dwc_otg.fiq_fsm_mask=0x1

Hi! I have the same troubles with 0404… :frowning:
Here:
bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour … ug/1416702
something VERY-VERY similar to our issue. Only one sample rate played and on the others - distortion instead of sound.
And again in that description, TS says about this patch:
mailman.alsa-project.org/piperma … 79103.html
and about successfully solving a problem with this patch. And looks like it worked for PI kernel too.