2xRPi + PCM5102 DAC + NAS + Surround web volume control

First Post…

I am a Process Automation student - (On a student budget) in Canada, but from Barbados and am sharing my Volumio setup!

• Volumio Pi: Version B rev2, I have mounted a PCM5102a DAC - diyinhk.com/shop/audio-kits/ … lator.html directly above the I2S pins for shortest possible trace length, and connected with silver wire. This Pi is powered by a Linear PS. The DAC is powered by a separate Linear supply using the LT3080 regulator (this separate PS for the DAC gave an improvement in highs).

• NAS Pi: Version B rev2. I am using a 2nd Raspi running Raspbian Wheezy to act as a NAS - powered by standard 2A tablet SMPS. The NAS is not the fastest, but it works great, and makes adding music to the Volumio library as simple as drag, drop, refresh. Also connected to this Pi are 2xL293 motor drives that control 3 stepper motors (two motors are small and drive identical amps - Center channel amp and rear speakers amp so they share a motor drive). the 3rd stepper motor controls the front L+R channels. I’ve also installed a web server on this Pi, which I run a PHP script that acts as the remote control (I use to use an IR remote yes, but I lost said remote in my tiny bachelors apartment. How this happened still baffles me).

• Passive Pre-amp: A simple DIY preamp with an Alps POT. DPDT switches allow me to switch between the HiFi input from RPi+DAC and any other source (In my case, a cheap and cheerful 5.1 sound decoder connected to PS3/PC). The output then connects the the Stereo amp for the front speakers.

• LCD: 20x4 - I have displayed now playing info, and volume from 2nd pi (not at the same time - yet), this LCD requires some more debugging to work the way I want it to, for this I plan on making another post to get some advice.

• PICS!:

IMG_20150213_123536.jpg

IMG_20150213_131428.jpg

Remote:
Screenshot_2015-02-13-13-40-05.png