Volumio CD player

A year ago I had a vision for how I wanted to listen to my music - I love my physical records, and listening to whole albums. At the same time I want to get a backup copy, and be able to edit them. So I started coding, and the result is a now functional CD player written in Python and some C: github.com/petli/codplayer

Then I got stuck, trying to find a useful platform to run it. It had to be fanless, with wifi and USB. I tried running Linux on an Rikomagic MK802III stick, but the kernel really, really didn’t like dealing with wifi traffic at the same time as sending sound to the USB DAC. Then Volumio found me on Twitter, when I mentioned RaspyFi.

So codplayer is finally running in my living room! Really, really smoothly on a RaspberryPi B connected to a simple USB CD-ROM and my trusty old first-gen Cambridge DacMagic.

The stuff that’s not sound is a bit rough still. The shell command user interface might be a bit daunting for most people, and it needs to be hooked up to udev so it starts playing when I insert a disc. The next item on my list (after fixing the daemon support I clumsily broke a while back) is a simple little web GUI to control it. I’m going to write that in Node.js and socket.io, because I want to learn that environment. It could also be integrated into the Volumio web GUI, since the CD player status is just written to a simple JSON file, and the player daemon is controlled by sending commands over a FIFO. The next step after that is the record database administration tool. I’ll post updates here.

Yes! Let’s integrate it in the webui! This will be amazing! If you need any kind of support just ask!

wow that’s cool. :slight_smile:

It would be great to have this option…
I’m looking for simply automatic cd ripper.

Now I’ve got codplayer to run with a simple little web UI to support it. There’s even some basic installation instructions over on github.com/petli/codplayer now.