Relocating iqaudio pi-dac+ RCA jacks

I’m a happy IQAudio pi-dac+ user since a week. Would like to build a case around my Pi + Dac which means I’ll need to replace the current RCA jacks with panel-mount types. I have some soldering experience but am definitely not an expert.

Anything I need to know before starting this? How difficult is it to remove the current jacks and replace them with some short wires to new ones?

Options I’d suggest are:

1. get some phono to phono cable - cut off one end and solder this cut end to the panel mount phono jacks - use the other end to plug into the Pi-DAC+ phono sockets (no need to desolder the Pi-DAC+ phono connector)

2. solder cables to your panel mount phono connectors and take these leads to the 2x4 pin header provided on the Pi-DAC+ (no need to desolder the Pi-DAC+ phono connector)

3. Go to maplin / radio shack etc. and buy a heated solder removal tool - makes the removal of components MUCH easier.

4. Buy a Pi-CASE+ :slight_smile:

Best regards,

Gordon

Are the other components sensitive to heat? need any special equipment or would regular soldering iron and desoldering tool ?

ives:
Did you find any nice case?
I thinking about this or something clean
emko.cz/produkty/it-skrine/r … lver-h3564

Thanks for the suggestions!

I still have this case lying around which I had already ordered for another project: modmypi.com/shop/modmypi-mo … case-black Thing is that it doesn’t have sufficient height to keep the existing connector on the pi-dac+. Otherwise I’d just use a cut phono-to-phono cable like you suggested.

BTW: is there any documentation about the pin layout on that 2x4 header? And since I’m asking: what is that little switch on the board for?

@jonas18z That looks like a nice case. Does it have any mount points for the pi inside? And looking at the height you’ll probably have the same issue with the connector.

Let me answer all these questions in one go…

1. components sensitive to heat